Posted in Challenge, Chloe, Motivational

Day 3 [Ability]: “I can achieve anything I want, as long as I set my heart to it.”

Hi Everyone!

Sorry, I was away for a day, and now I have four days of affirmation challenges to catch up! Nfsjfsfskfnskfnsk

Randomness aside, let my Day-3 begin, yo!

 

Day 3: [Ability]

“I can achieve anything I want, as long as I set my heart to it.”

 

Aha! I was one of the many victims of self-doubting my abilities right until last year. I have many dreams but I let my scary-cat self get the better of me – or rather, my ability.

I thought I was just an ordinary woman… do my dreams matter to the world or even to the people around me? Would it affect me? So what if I do not set my heart to realizing them?

I even thought that I could never, ever achieve anything (minus the stuff which I haven’t achieved yet due to procrastination… uh oh).

But that, has changed tremendously ever since the start of Year 2014 😀

 

1. Identify a goal/dream that you’re blocking yourself in currently.

 

I used to have a lot of dreams which I was blocking them with my very own hands. But I came to understand that only me and my mind can do funny tricks to myself. My attendance at the 2014 National Achievers Congress has made me even more determined to fight till the very end in life. I mean, hey, it’s MY LIFE. If I don’t take charge, who could do that for me?

That being said… right now, there’s only one left which will still do an occasional peek-a-boo on me. Yep, I am trying hard to overcome this:

I might not be a good speaker and a coach.

 

2. Identify your self-limiting belief(s) in this goal/dream.

 

My spoken English is not good enough to be a speaker.

Who would engage my services as a Life Coach in Positive Psychology?

Ok, regarding the first point on my self-belittling belief system on my English language, I have some confidence issue when it comes to this area. Growing up in a Mandarin speaking family, I think I speak way better Mandarin than English. Even though I have people around me telling me that my English is good enough than average Singaporeans, I am still not very convinced. Perhaps it was due to a few “humiliating” incidents when I was younger… Somehow while growing up, I have a lot of friends around me who are very fluent in speaking English. There were a few incidents when I have mispronounced words, and I felt ashamed. These most likely resulted in me having low self-confidence in speaking English. I tend to fumble with the words on my tongue! Urgh.

As for the point on being a coach, I have all the fears and doubts. Even though I have friends around me who have more confidence in me than I have in myself, I still have these self-doubts on my ability to becoming a coach. I think… I was worried and afraid that I wouldn’t be able to help my clients in the way I want to help them.

 

3. Change this self-limiting belief(s).

 

Don’t be shy Chloe, just speak out loud! If you know you tend to speak at a very fast pace hence making the words fumble even more, slow down! You don’t want to get a ticket for speeding! … OK that was lame randomness.

Yep, so what if I sound like an idiot (OK, I seriously don’t think I am so bad to this extent but, you know) when I speak in English? Just put more consciousness into it when speaking English to people! Don’t get intimidated by your past experiences! And. Speak. S-l-o-w-e-r. Don’t always talk like you are gonna catch a train =.=

As for the coaching part, you know you can do it! You have all the people around you proving to you that you can do it! You already have plans on becoming a coach, just follow through and you shall see for yourself!

Aja Aja fighting!

 

4. Identify action step(s) you’re going to take to realize this goal/dream.

 

OK, finally something I can hold my head high 😀

I have signed up for a public speaking course and will be attending it in early August… woot!

I am currently taking up the diploma in Positive Psychology, the crucial component to becoming the coach that I want to be in the future.

Looking good, Chloe! 😀

 

5. Say your new belief(s), along with today’s affirmation:

“I can achieve anything I want, as long as I set my heart to it.”

 

OK, spoken out loud cum screamed in my head 😀

 

My Afterthoughts:

 

It is a nasty thing to admit to yourself the things that are bothering you. Especially when you just want to turn a blind eye to these hidden issues until they really surface as problem (usually at crucial times).

But I’m glad I did, in writing and sharing. Especially when I continue writing the action plans to change the negative beliefs, I feel more assured 😀

LOL. I felt like I was reprimanding myself though. Yep, I need a good scolding, by myself! Look at what kind of rubbish I have been telling myself and making myself believe in these kind of trash. Tsk tsk tsk.

“I can achieve anything I want, as long as I set my heart to it!: This is definitely gonna be a true story which I would be telling people in the future 😀

You can see more of the actual Day-3 affirmation post by Celestine Chua here: http://personalexcellence.co/blog/affirmation-day-3-ability/

Dream big and believe in yourself, because the power lies within you~

 

Chloe

Author:

Chloe Sim is a simple girl with one of the biggest dreams of achieving lifelong Happiness! Oh, not just for herself! She aims to aid her family and friends and all~ the people around her to defining and achieving their Happiness. She believes that everyone deserves to be Happy, so that they would be able to savour every moment of their lives and really live their lives to the fullest with no regrets! To date, she has more than eight years of customer service working experience. From handling difficult and demanding public to bereaved customers, it was due to her vast experience in the field where she has found many ways to stay happy and positive in her everyday life. So, tada! You are now cordially invited to join her in her journey to achieving her/ your Happiness. Who doesn't want to be a Happy person? Happy me, Happy life, let’s go~!

2 thoughts on “Day 3 [Ability]: “I can achieve anything I want, as long as I set my heart to it.”

Leave a Reply

