Posted in Motivational

My Takeaway from N.A.C 2014

Hello Everyone!

Finally! TGIF is tomorrow 😀

How was your week so far? Busy? Exciting? Feeling accomplished? Or were you feeling bored? Hang on there people! Weekend is juuuuusssst around the corner and I bet we all already have plans lined up!

For me, I simply can’t wait for the weekend to be here! Not just because it was a busy work week for me (as usual), but I have something really exciting coming up~ In fact, my entire June and July would be very, very occupied 🙂

It all began from the last weekend.

I usually spend my weekend eating, sleeping, reading, hanging out with my friends, Starbucks-ing, spending time with my family and with my boyfriend, AA, or simply just rotting away somewhere in my house… the list can go on forever. And I love weekends like this! Two days of such good life always flew by as if in the speed of lightning, isn’t it? And I used to always grumble: How perfect would it be if all our weekends consist of three awesome days instead of the miserable two! (Then gradually we would wish for four of those awesome days.)

But last weekend, I AM A CHANGED WOMAN~ Haha! Oh… the beam of stage light should shine upon me~~

This weekend was very different from the regular ones that I always choose to have.

It was busy!

Fulfilling!

Not-moving!

Just eating sufficiently!

And… extremely rewarding!

From 8.15am to 8pm, I was sitting in the Compass Ballroom of Resort World Sentosa like a diligent and good student with a notebook and pen in hand, jotting down wise advices furiously.

And I didn’t even have half of this concentration level when I was preparing for my ‘O’ Levels ten years ago. Tsk tsk.

Yes, I attended the Nation Achievers Congress 2014, Singapore!

 

The best zoom-in my iPhone 4s can go... Yes, I was sitting really far away.
The best zoom-in my iPhone 4s can go… Yes, I was sitting really far away =.=

OK, confession time. *Ahem*

So, technically speaking, it was a three-day event, beginning on 30 May (Friday). But… I was feeling tired and lazy and all the excuses that I could think of on the Friday morning itself. The idea of to be able to rest on a weekday has enticed me SO MUCH. What would be a better day than to just spend the precious day rolling about at home (from my room to the kitchen and back) when I am usually at work slogging my bottom off on Fridays?

This idea has seduced me so much like a fish to a cat. And so I have stayed at home on the first day of NAC. … Yes, I am found guilty of rotting away at home instead of being at the Resort World Sentosa on Friday where I was supposed to be. I even took the Friday off from work just so that I can attend the NAC… but look what happened in the end!

I deeply regretted my decision when I finally attended the NAC 2014 on the 31 May. I wanted to chomp down on my own chubby cheeks if I could reach them. It was SO GOOD. I mean, the NAC 2014 was so good! OK, this is not some KFC campaign, but I wished I hadn’t missed the first day at all. WHY, WHY DID I NOT ATTEND ON THAT DAY? I can’t even remember what I did at home on the whole of Friday!

If you have asked me, say, a year ago, I would never have thought that I would be interested in events such as the NAC, not to even mention attending and enjoying it thoroughly. The two days which I have attended are literally like all your self-help books combined, but coming into life! … If you do read those books, that is.

The Singapore NAC 2014 has a list of hollywood-like speakers. They are, as introduced by the National Achievers Congress 2014:

  1. Nick Vujicic: World Renowned Inspirational Speaker, also a bestselling author;
  2. Tom Hopkins: World’s Leading Authority on Sales, also the author of How to Master to the Art of Selling;
  3. Brendon Burchard: World’s #1 Motivation and Marketing Trainer, whose near-death experience has opened his mind and heart;
  4. John Burley: Legendary Real Estate Investor-Mentor;
  5. Sean Seah & Cayden Chang: Two awesome Singaporeans who are the Masters of Value Investing;
  6. Gerry Robert: A very humorous man who is also a Bestselling Author, Mentor and International Speaker;
  7. J.T. Foxx: A vey engaging and charismatic man who is also the World’s #1 Wealth Coach;
  8. Adam Ginsberg: The #1 Expert on Making Big Money on the Internet (especially on eBay);
  9. Peng Joon: Voted #1 Digital Marketer;
  10. Shiv Khera: Author, Educator and Business Consultant;
  11. Andy Harrington: The World’s Leading Public Speaking Expert;
  12. Kieron Sweeney: International Speaker, Business Coach, Digital Entrepreneur;
  13. Andrew Matthews: Masterful Illustrator and International Speaker, also the author of Being Happy;
  14. Daniel Miller: International Speaker, Consultant, Educator; and
  15. Caroline Claydon: Rich Dad Education Property Investor and Coach.

Look at the list of amazing speakers who were present! I felt very honoured to be able to listen to their speeches and their wise advices, all live. A friend has always told me: Always learn from the Experts! I even felt like my brain and my heart have grown maybe 0.01 centimeter bigger.

I was amazed at myself. Yes, please do allow me some self-praising moment because I literally listened wide-eyed for the ENTIRE course of two days. I had attended the NAC with my boyfriend, AA, and he was surprised at my energy level too. I was totally enjoying my time there, nodding once in every two lines at what the speakers have shared. And as for AA, once or twice he was also nodding away… in his lalaland.

Of course, being in such a place, they would bound to sell you their programs or products. In fact, I was being advised by a friend to be careful of all the selling. You would be so inspired by their talks that you would buy the programs they were offering right on the spot, only to realize at a much later time (aka at home) that some purchases were made at a spur of the moment.

That was her talk of experience.

I remembered I had, “Oh, is it! OK, OK, I will be very careful” in reply.

To anyone who knows me personally, I always purchase in a whim of a moment. Not something I am proud of and I admit that quite a handful of my past purchases were unnecessary. I have made some purchases (not cheap) which have made my heart heavy with guilt and self-loathe afterwards (especially when I realized that I need the money for other more important matters some time later, my gods).

But this time is different! I do not, and will not think that I will regret! Yes, you read me right; I have bought a few programs (HAHA). They are by Gerry Robert, Andy Harrington, J.T. Foxx and T. Harv Eker. The first program which is by Gerry Robert will commence on this coming weekend! How exciting~

Oh, and not to forget a book called How Life Works by Andrew Matthews that was selling at the seminar too. It’s such an AMAZING book. Seriously. I was so hooked onto it once I started on the very first page. No kidding. Simple words, deep concept. Amazing book, amazing author! Who wants a review from me on this book? *raise my own hand* 😀

OK, I digress. So, I see these as educational purchases which will aid me and add value in me on my personal growth and achievements. I was actually very proud of my purchases. HAHA. If I were to spend some money, I might as well make them worthy buys, yes? (This is certainly not an excuse so as to spend. No, it is not. NOT!)

These two days have transformed me. I know “transform” is a big word, but that is honestly my heartfelt feeling.

Even though I have a career goal in mind (with some even bigger dreams) and am actively working towards it (them), I still feel insecurities creeping up like little chilly bugs occasionally. And I dislike bugs.

Is this the right direction? Can I make it? Would I succeed? Do I have the ability to achieve what I want? To live the perfect life I desire? The journey is like a never-ending marathon, can I complete the race? Do I have what it takes to complete the race? How long would all these take? (It does feel like forever at times.)

And yada yada yada.

What I have learnt from all the NAC 2014 speakers is that:

My biggest enemy is Myself.

I believe most of us have heard of this before. I heard of this many times in the past, but I always gave the statement a nod and then forget about it once I turned my back.

But now, I have truly digested the meaning behind the statement, and it made me ponder deeply.

I, am indeed my greatest enemy. That is because I am the one who was actively feeding myself with the most lethal poison which can aid its growth and terminates my growth: fear.

Fear is a very lethal emotion. It paralyses a person’s dreams and sometimes kills hope. And most of the time, we allow imaginary fear to kill our dreams in their cradles. How many of you have noticed that only a small percentage of what you have feared in life so far have really come true?

One example: fear makes a person thinks that he or she would be satisfied with an average/ normal/ moderate/ so-so/ wont-starve-to-death-but-I-don’t-know-if-I-am-alive life, receiving steady income aka monthly paychecks.

Don’t get me wrong; I am not hinting that having a steady job which gives you a monthly paycheck is wrong. In fact, I am one of those who are living off monthly paychecks now (and it never feels enough. We shall come to that in another day). If you happened to be enjoying your job right now, it gives you a regular sense of fulfillment and satisfaction, and it ensures monthly paychecks… awesome! 🙂

But well, if you don’t feel this way…

There is a vast difference between wanting to live a life working towards one’s dreams/ goals/ passions/ true desires and wanting to live a life without using his/her full potential. What is the most common telltale sign that you are under challenged at work? In a way, I think you are belittling yourself by trying to just get by day after day with the long-time best friend, Mister Boredom. (OK, some of yours is a Miss).

I believe that everyone deserves to live their best lives. Or maybe so that life is an exciting journey. So that when you need (somehow) to kick the bucket, you would go: OK, so far my life has been awesome for me. Too bad that I might no longer have more time to make it even more exciting, but I have had my own fair share of joy.

I believe that one of the ways a lifelong happiness will happen is when a person is working diligently towards his/her dreams. Every obstacle would be seen as a challenge that would make this person emerges stronger like a Superman.

And I believe that you would not be truly happy if you do not even try to start working towards living the life that you desire. I really think we feel the most alive when we are working towards our dream life.

A lot of times, we have used imaginary fear to make a decision and act (or not to act). We had believed that the potential fear is real, and we avoided doing the things that had caused the fear so that we would be safe, or feel safe. But what a lot of people do not realize is that we have allowed fear to cage our souls and dreams.

Have you always wanted to be a painter but you felt that you were never good enough? Perhaps you have always thought that creating Art is only for the geniuses?

If you honestly think that no one with the right frame of mind would buy your paintings even if you had a dozen mentors, then explore other possibilities to make your dream come true.

How about killing two birds with one stone? Perhaps you could open an art gallery? And this is only one of the many ways to work towards your best life.

If you think that you would not be able to survive in this practical world by solely being a painter, then work towards being the owner of an art gallery. While you have the gallery to sell the other geniuses’ works so as to ensure your minimal survival, you can in turn hang yours in your own gallery. This way, you can then survive and realize your dreams at the same time. How awesome is that! You get to sell your own masterpieces in your own gallery!

Easier said than done? Of course; no one can guarantee immediate success or immediate implementation. Would it be a dream worth realizing if it could be done with a snap of your fingers?

However, if you were prepared to live your life for decades not realizing your dreams until the day you die, then why not work for the same amount of time realizing your goals and dreams? At least, you would die with minimal regrets, because you know that you have tried. And what happens if you really did succeed in achieving your goals and dreams? You would have the time of your life!

If I were to just live my every day as if in a daze nonchalantly until the day my life comes to an end, I would be so disappointed and angry with myself.

I had imagined how it would be like if after my death, a higher source of power informed me that:

You know what, Chloe, you were actually born to succeed and live the life you had always dreamt of having. That is because everyone was created to achieve what they want if they are willing to make a go at it. But because you decided not to risk it, you missed the chance of attaining it. Would you die if you had failed in your journey to realizing your dreams? Tsk tsk *with the irritating shake of the forefinger*. I hate to tell you this, Chloe, but you would not die. Yet, I mean. But you are, now. So just that’s too bad, isn’t it?”

How would I feel?

O.M.G!

Ow man, no! I imagined I would tear my hair out and beg to turn back time and be reborn with memories so that I can really live my life all over again. OK, too fictitious here but you get the drift.

Actually, it takes me a lot of courage to start this blog.

I have messages that I am burning to share, but I do not have the courage to act on it. I am better in Chinese (I am a Chinese; surprise, surprise) than I am in English and I thought that my English had to be Perfect with the capital P in order to have the right and permission to share my messages.

Like it is a sin if I was spotted with grammatical errors in my articles.

What if nobody understands what the banana I was writing?

I also thought that I wasn’t worthy enough, and like what some of the speakers at NAC 2014 have said, I thought that no one would hear or care about the messages I want to share. I have a whole basket of more fears, but I will not bore you with them. You might just have a few of those yourself.

Thereafter, I have decided: I love myself to bits and so I decided to believe in myself just a little bit more than now.

The truth is, how would I know if all my fears were real? There’s only one way to find out, and that is to Start. Only by trying would I know how real my fears are. And of course, I sincerely hope that all my fears are imaginary! HAHA. Well, even if I had failed, then try again! I think I would if I had really wanted it that badly!

So what are you waiting for? Let’s Take Action together, Now!

… OK, for some of you, maybe nothing so drastic in the beginning that would make you struggle to come into terms with yourself. Why not first start by listing down the things that you desire to achieve in life? For the few decades that you might be left with? The perfect dream life which would have you grinning from ear to ear whenever you visualize it?

Dream big and believe in yourself, because the power lies within you.

 

Chloe ❤

 

Author:

Chloe Sim is a simple girl with one of the biggest dreams of achieving lifelong Happiness! Oh, not just for herself! She aims to aid her family and friends and all~ the people around her to defining and achieving their Happiness. She believes that everyone deserves to be Happy, so that they would be able to savour every moment of their lives and really live their lives to the fullest with no regrets! To date, she has more than eight years of customer service working experience. From handling difficult and demanding public to bereaved customers, it was due to her vast experience in the field where she has found many ways to stay happy and positive in her everyday life. So, tada! You are now cordially invited to join her in her journey to achieving her/ your Happiness. Who doesn't want to be a Happy person? Happy me, Happy life, let’s go~!

Leave a Reply

